Another Newb saying Hi and a Question about spheres

Hi everyone! Just thought I’d introduce myself on here. I randomly found out about the Pixelblaze after looking around for my new LED projects. I tend to make things for festivals and my house/ friends. Now, I’m no programmer so I have no idea about coding (only super basic bits like changing the number of LED’s etc…) I try to just build fun things I like to look at :slight_smile:
I’d love to take a programming course specifically for writing LED code but it doesn’t exist, so I just usually grab something that is similar to what I need and make it work.

aaaaaaaaanyway, I’m about to jump in and order a V2 with the expansion for a mic. I was wondering if there are examples of code for spheres or spherical matrices? I have a plan to 3d print a sphere with hexagonal features across the surface and wire in some WS2812s throughout to display patterns. Is this something that already exists or am I punching a bit high in my weight class? hahah

Cheers all!

1 Like

PB is perfect to learn on. And sphere stuff is on my radar to work on shortly cause I have all the bits ready except I have to 3d print some clips. But I’ll be happy to write up stuff as I go, and I intend on doing a lot of sphere based things (including modifying existing patterns) so welcome and if you have any questions as you go, just ask!

Hi @tattooedferret,
Welcome to the forums and Pixelblaze!

@jeff put together an awesome introduction to Pixelblaze coding pattern tutorial. You follow along in the code, and the comments guide you to understanding and most importantly, playing around with pattern code so you can see it in action.

An Intro to Pixelblaze Code.epe (22.0 KB)