Audio Volume Meter (1D Strip)

I’ve been lurking the forums and slowly working on an sound reactive audio visualizer for quite a while now. It shows the volume data from the sensor board grouped into a few sections (sub-bass, bass, low-mids, mids, treble). The code is posted on the pattern site and also at the end of this post.

Each section fills based on how loud those frequencies are and you can flip between a 5 section display and a 3 section display using a UI toggle. It’s somewhat tailored to my own setup, which has an LED strip wrapped around an entryway, so the bass sections fill upward on the sides and the middle sections fill from their mid-points.

I included some commented lines to make the bass sections fill outward like the others if you prefer that setup. I am a very amateur coder, so there’s likely still plenty of room for improvement, but I’m really happy with the current state of it. Runs at a steady 54fps with my 300px strand of WS2812b lights.

Anyway, be sure to go through the Audio Settings portion of the code to make adjustments to the audio refresh rate, sound floor, and other stuff that varies based on a lot of real-life variables. Let me know what you think and feel free to incorporate or build on this in your own projects.

/*
	Audio Volume Meter

NOTE: Requires the PixelBlaze Sensor Expansion Board

This pattern visualizes volume data from the PixelBlaze sensor expansion board. It uses several techniques to smooth out
	the display, but you can adjust this to you preference using the variables in the Audio Settings at the top of the script, 
	as well as the Blending (visual) and Decay (audio) UI sliders.

Adjust the balance sliders to increase/reduce EQ of each frequency range to fit with your audio source.

Use the 3 Sections toggle to switch between a 3 and 5 section display. It is designed for use with a horizontal strip,