Aurora on LED strips

I’m planning a project that involves ceiling mounted 12x LED strips of varying lengths, longest no more than 1m, a total of 6m. I’m thinking of using the 5V 144LED/m strip (would take about 7x strips counting some waste) and powered by 3x of the expansion board pro which should be enough power for all this.

(1 Meter 144/m = 7.6 A. Approx 2m on each expansion board.)

The idea is to display patterns, particularly the northern lights, using this “array”. It isn’t exactly a matrix or grid because not all strips are physically aligned, or the same length. But it could perhaps be treated as a matrix…

Any comments on my hardware plan?

Also any hints as to get started coding this? I’ve written a little code in the past but it has been a while and this is my first time with the PixelBlaze.

Ideally I’d be able to create a multi button control panel where each button starts a different pattern playing back - as well as being able to control via wifi…

thanks!

144LED/m x 6m = 864 LEDs which can easily be driven by a single Pixelblaze. You’d just have to inject power at various points, but that should be simple since it’s a planar layout.

The pixel mapper lets you assign a location to each LEDs, so you’re covered as far as layout goes.

Then you could use the built-in Perlin noise functions to make the aurora. Coding would be relatively easy.