Gauging Interest in Introductory Level Pixelblaze Workshop

Hey All,

I have some experience teaching kids to code, both online and in the classroom, and, with @wizard, have been discussing holding a “Introduction to coding with Pixelblaze” online workshop aimed at people who want to start coding their own patterns with PixelBlaze but may not be super comfortable with coding/Javascript/pixel mapping/animation timing or whatever issue might be holding them back. Having collaborated in creating a Pixelblaze powered-product (see LuxLavalier.com) whose purchasers don’t always have coding experience, I’d love to see more of the people who buy it take the time to learn to use it to its full potential.

I’m thinking that an introductory workshop could be streamed live with chat (probably via Streamyard) and that it would be about half (or slightly less) demonstration of PixelBlaze basics, including the mapper and creating/modifying a simple pattern, and half Q & A. The level would be appropriate for a novice coder and aimed at clarifying the basics via a live demo.

I’m curious whether:

(a) There is interest in attending such a session?
(b) If so, what topics would you most like to see covered?

Thanks so much for any feedback, and if there is interest, I’ll work with @wizard to make it happen.

Best,
Debra (GeekMomProjects)

13 Likes

Oh dear god yes please. 100% in

3 Likes

I’d love to learn how to get the most out of Pixelblaze and the displays I’ve created. Your idea sounds wonderful to me.

2 Likes

This is a great idea, I’m in!

As my coding knowledge is one hell of a patchwork atm, an introductory workshop would probably fill a lot of gaps.

If I had one specific request, it would be arrays:)

3 Likes