Getting Started Issues

Hi there wizard and company,

I’m brand new to just about every aspect of this and I’m starting to feel like I’m way in over my head: I have a Pixelblaze V3 Standard that I am having trouble connecting to my computer via bluetooth. Day one out of the box set up and successfully discovered the device and accessed http://192.168.4.1 but this was before I had connected the LED strip.
After I connected the SK9822 LED Pixel Strip DATA and CLOCK DC5V I was and still am unable to discover the device.

Problem no2 (which I suspect might be related)

I suspect I am not powering my unit adequately because I resorted to using whatever USB cables I already had, assuming they would do the job. However I’m finding that I get very different results depending on what cable I use which just goes to show that I know absolutely nothing about electricity. Some cables don’t even power the entire LED strip and the last quarter simply don’t light. Other cables can power the whole strip but produce a pulse in lighting. Some effect the quality of the light.

TLDR What kind of power cable do I need to successfully power on the pixelblaze and the 144 LEDs connected to it.

I suspect if I get adequate power the connectivity issue will be sorted. If not I’ll post the issue separately.

My electrical knowledge beyond “multiplying the LED draw by the number of LEDs” is pretty much zero so if the problem is anything more complex than that, it’s probably outside my ability to help troubleshoot.