Getting Web Browser to Work

I am just getting started but am having problems connecting to the Web Browser that controls the Pixelblaze. I have it set-up to run in AP mode. The unit shows up on my list of wireless networks.

Getting the hardware to connect up is a game of hit and miss. To navigate to the browser I need to be on my computers wireless network. However when I try and go to the 192.168.4.1 page I get a timeout ie it can’t find the page. If I switch to the Pixelblaze network I can’t access the webpage. After several back and forth attempt, switching from one wireless network to another as some point I will get the correct combination and can reach the page and control the Pixelblaze. At this point I can control the string of LEDs.

There has to be some way that I can reliably get the Pixelblaze up and running on the first try.

Edit: An additional data point is that I am spending a fair amount of time dealing with a mac message stating

“Pixelblaze_xxx” was previously joined as Open, not WAP2 Personal.

or another message with the Open/WAP2 message reversed.

Cheers.

Hi Alan!

I don’t feel confident about any of these definitely solving your problem, but I’ve noticed a few times on the forum where people have WiFi issues and it sometimes comes down to:

• Password needed to be 8 or more characters
  • Someone found it utterly inconsistent on their wireless network, then switched APs or routers, and found it worked perfectly
  • Range from your home AP/router. If you’re on the edge of usable range, I’ve seen slow or inconsistent trouble loading. The antenna on the board is not as robust as what’s in most other consumer WiFi client devices.

192.168.4.1 will only be the IP address in initial setup mode or AP mode - you usually won’t be able to connect to a web server there if your computer’s wifi is connected to your home network.