Got Firestorm running, set up Rpi as AP, no loner working

I decided to try installing Firestorm on an old Rpi 3 (fresh Buster install) using the Github instructions. I do not remember setting a custom port.

I got it working, loaded up 0.0.0.0 on the Rpi, saw the Firestorm page, successfully connected to a Pixelblaze. Both the Rpi and the PB were on my home wifi.

I then decided to set up the Rpi as an AP, which I have never done before, and followed these instructions.

As part of the process, I rebooted. I connected my phone to the Rpi’s wifi network, and hooked the Rpi up to Ethernet.

Loading 0.0.0.0 on the Rpi did not work any more. I was under the assumption that Firestorm starts automatically on boot but nonetheless, I ran pm2 start server.js.

It gave me the usual startup messages, saying that it has successfully started in fork_mode, with 1 instance.

I tried 0.0.0.0 again from the Rpi, no dice. I tried loading the IP address of the Rpi in my phone’s browser, both with and without :3000, no dice.

I understand that this might now be outside the scope of this forum, and more of an Rpi question, but was the tutorial I followed the wrong move?

I basically want to be able to have the Rpi create a wifi network that I can put all PBs on, then I connect my phone to that and access Firestorm. I also set up VNC and SSH and connected successfully before I set up the AP.

That tutorial had me editing a bunch of files, so I don’t think I’ll be able to backtrack without doing a fresh install.

Any ideas?

0.0.0.0 is β€œany address” so definitely not a reliable thing to connect to.

Try sudo netstat -ntlp on the Rpi to see what’s listening on what address (-ntlp options are respectively: Numeric TCP Listening Program)

… then pick a real IP address+port that Firestorm is listening on.

1 Like

0.0.0.0 as a destination often hits the loopback. It’s non-routable, so only the PI would be able to see itself with that address.