Help pixel mapping on steps

Has anyone written some similar code or can someone point me in the right direction?
I have an installation of LEDs under the treads of irregular (architecturally offset) stairs. I am trying to pixel map them. The LEDs are not visible directly (they are in a recessed channel), so I can’t use an image mapper. I am calculating a data structure with the following for each step: [StripID, PixelblazeExpanderPin, StartX, NumPixels, Y, Direction, OffsetPixelsInCircuit].
All LEDs in the project are 60/m. Increasing X goes west, Y goes north.
I have 42 strips on 11 circuits on 2 different output expanders. I want to get a rough draft of a pixel mapping pattern but I’m very rusty in JS and I’ve never done world coordinate mapping before.
Potential items to consider are that 2 steps are significantly offset in the -X direction. Will that greatly expand the calculations or memory needs? Also since they are steps with a landing and a bench they are not quite in a plane. Should I map them as 3D with a Z coordinate being elevation, or is that just unnecessary?
As a bonus, are there tester patterns I could use to make sure I correctly counted the number of pixels in each strip and the offset for each strip? I would not be surprised if I made a mistake counting or measuring.

Sounds doable , but I’m having trouble visualizing the layout. Can you sketch it up?

Thanks for your help.
I am trying to understand what I need the mapping function to do, given that I have 2 expansion boards sending data to 12 LED runs. Each run goes to 2-5 steps in a way that makes roughly equal numbers of pixels, where the wiring goes in a zigzag pattern. I am including a piece of the architectural drawings:Stair Architecture
I also have a photo of me standing on the installation
Google Photos
As you can see the pixels reflect light so they are not directly visible. Thus I am building a mapping.
Here are some specific questions that should let me generate a mapping: