Help: Understanding the basics of the canvas and mapping

Hi All,

Newbie here.

I get the idea that the patterns (2D) drawn in a canvas are scaled to the coordinates of the pixelMap.

Being used to framebuffers I am bit struggling with the x, y variables in the render2D function.

1. x, y variables in the render function, are they the coordinates of the canvas (where the math functions are drawn) which is stated by Wizard as ranging from 0 to 1 , or are they the x,y values from the pixel map ?

2. canvas to pixel map scaling , how it works ?

Lets says I need to draw a circle on a 4x4 matrix of led , for the sake of understanding lets say we need to lit two middle pixels each in first and last row and first & last pixels of middle two rows, how the translation happens from the canvas coordinates x,y i.e. ranging 0 to 1 to the Pixel MAP ?

0 1 1 0
1 0 0 1
1 0 0 1
0 1 1 0

Example Map : [x,y] pixel map provided for a zig-zag 4x4 led matrix as

[[0,0],[0,1],[0,2],[0,3], [1,0],[1,1],[1,2],[1,3], [2,0],[2,1],[2,2],[2,3], [3,0],[3,1],[3,2],[3,3]]

I can partially get it in my head but don’t want to speculate than hearing from the experts here. Thanks in advance.

The pixel map gets scaled/normalized so all points fit within a unit square, so the render2D() call will only ever receive x and y values ranging from 0 to 1. The Pixelblaze does this by dividing all the x values in your map by the maximum x value in your map, and similarly for y. So for the example map you provide, this will be converted to approximately(!) the following:

[
  [0,    0], [0,    0.333], [0,    0.667], [0,    0.999],
  [0.333,0], [0.333,0.333], [0.333,0.667], [0.333,0.999], 
  [0.667,0], [0.667,0.333], [0.667,0.667], [0.667,0.999], 
  [0.999,0], [0.999,0.333], [0.999,0.667], [0.999,0.999]
]