Help with illuminating an old fire department equipment status board

Hello,
I am restoring/retrofitting an old fire department equipment status board with some 2811 string lights. A little background on me, I have little to no experience writing code but am eager to learn. I purchased the V3 pixelblaze, and was able to connect everything and apply one of the sample codes to the four 50-bulb strings. Here is a picture of the board with the layout being the same on the front and back.

My goal is to have each number light up one at a time (with the corresponding number on the back of the panel also lighting up), stay on for a few seconds, and then go to the next number in sequential order. So the end result would be when the #1 illuminates on the front panel, the #1 on the back of the panel would also illuminate. The 1 through 60 numbers would be in the same sequence and then the 1 through 30 numbers would come next in the sequence. I was able to apply a sample code and modify it so that each light turns on one by one and works its way through all 4 strings but that’s as far as I got. In addition to illuminating each diode (white), I would also like to be able to illuminate certain numbers red as the loop reaches their location (example: #14 would be illuminated red). When the loop reaches the “red” designated numbers, I would like each of those to stay illuminated as the loop continues on to the next number. At the end of the loop, there will be approximately 7 or 8 numbers that will be red. Once the cycle finishes, I would like it to repeat again. For context, the red numbers represent all the fire stations I was assigned to in my career. I hope this was enough information to give you a general idea of what I am trying to do. Any help would be appreciated,
Chris

1 Like

Hi @onthespot! Cool project. I’d be happy to help.