How do I wire external power supply?

Hi,

Just getting my toe into LED lightning. I’m not a complete newb to electrical wiring, but I cannot find any kind of picture or diagram to help explain how to wire my Pixelblaze to an external power supply. I was able to connect the PB to my wifi thru micro USB, but I bought a BFT-lightning 5-meter stand, so only the first foot lights up (as I expected.) What’s my next step?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Wire those two to the power supply (they are already connected to same wires on the PB, which you have connected).

Don’t plug into USB.

And you’re good.

2 Likes

Ok, It wasn’t powering up before, but it is now. Might have had a loose connection.

Now, under Micro USB, the whole string lit up, but rapidly lost brightness. Now, it’s only powering up the lights about 12 inches. :frowning:

1 Like

@Mebejedi,
Some common causes of loose connections are solder joint issues and not stripping enough of the wire for the screw terminal. I’d check both of those. You’ll also need to set up the LED type in settings, and configure the number of pixels. Any of those kinds of issues can cause the LEDs to not work correctly.

The solder should flow smoothly to all of the metal bits, like it’s wicking to it. Here’s a great guide on that, with photos!

2 Likes

Ok, settings was the issue, and apparently the RGB color order needs to be adjusted as well. Other than that, it’s working peachy-keen! Thanks! :smiley:

2 Likes

I have a similar question since I’m a newbie.
I got the Pixel Blaze and 4m RGBW LEDS: 4 meter spool of 60/m [SK6812]

I haven’t even soldered the connector or tried to power it up, but as I gather now, I won’t be able to power more than about a half a meter of the spool from the micro USB(?)

So I’ll need and external 5V power supply that can deliver 10A+, yes?
What external power supply do you recommend for this 4m spool?

Hi Craig!