How I learned to Program

I’d just like to encourage everybody to participate whatever your skill level might be at the moment, and not to worry about other people working on their own stuff at different levels in the background. Remember:

EVERY SINGLE PERSON HERE WAS AN ABSOLUTE BEGINNER AT ONE POINT.

People helped us. And the learning never stops. People still help us all the time. We’re more than happy to pass that along. There’s something here for everybody, so dive in, ask many questions, share code and learn with us!

Personally, the two things that helped me the most with programming were:

• Playing with example code (in my case, laboriously typing in and debugging programs from Byte magazine.)
  • Asking questions. Super important! I made a great pest of myself in the computer lab, but the established hacker people were helpful and tolerant. Slowly, I learned and improved, 'till one day, people were asking me questions, which still seems weird, but that’s pretty much how the wheel turns.
3 Likes

Excellent thoughts. I believe the best way to learn is to take on tasks that require stretching. And failing isn’t a bad thing, it’s a way to learn more, as you learn how to do it.

I printed out a thing from electromage I hand-titled “An Introduction to Pixelblaze Code” but didn’t not the exact link and cannot now find it on the site. It looks like some interactive format allowing real-time editing…

I’m getting lost with terminology/syntax so I’ve started an Excel sheet with things like “array”…
what is an array, and what is its basic use?

I still do not really know.

“Slider”… a way of taking a variable out of the bulk code so it can be easily varied?

Still not sure about delta… etc.

Working on it.

Introduction is a pattern, I believe.

Array = a group of values, each in a slot, starting at zero.

So samplearray[0] is the first value
Samplearray[1] is the second. And so on.