Learning basic JavaScript syntax

Any suggestions for a source to better understand JS syntax that applies to PB? Is syntax even the right word to describe the “rules”, such as what goes inside curly brackets and what goes outside? For instance, If I want to use an if/else conditional, as an absolute beginner all I can do is copy the form from someone else. While that strategy works, it’s an incredibly slow and ineffective to way to actually understand the underlying rules. I’ve dug into some JS tutorials but then I encounter lots of rules that don’t apply to PB, and I can’t always tell the difference. I understand that this forum is focused, appropriately, on coding for LEDs, but I just haven’t found an appropriate source elsewhere to learn some foundational basics.

I’m in a very similar position, so me answering this is a little “blind leading the blind”, but I think I have a pretty good idea of the place you’re currently at. I had never used JavaScript before the PB outside of copy-pasting some code for web stuff. Luckily my only other programming experience was half a class in C, which is relatively similar in syntax, and doesn’t have a lot of the extra features that Javascript has but PB doesn’t. It’s also definitely a lot harder reading the PB docs without a javascript background, since things are often referred to in a way that expects that familiarity.