New Automotive Build: Looking for Input and Advice

Hey folks. First a little hygiene: please let me know if there’s a better place for this post. This is my first time on the forum. Happy to delete and repost.

I have been playing around with an idea for a couple of years: making an LED array that fits over the rear engine bay of my rear-engined car. (A '14 C2 if you’re curious.)

This project is pretty complex, but I think I’ve gotten my CAD and programming skills buffed up enough that I can take a swing at it. But I’m still very much a tinkerer, and would welcome some suggestions, especially around hardware and power.

The car as it comes from the factory has a plastic, louvered (static) grille or “deck lid” that recesses into a flip-up aluminum engine cover. This grille is made of what I believe to be injection molded ABS and houses a powered third brake light. While the engine itself is directly below this grille, it’s more for general purpose ducting and (in other models) air intake, so I am taking this as a possibility that even with the addition of lots of ambient heat, I should still be able to make an LED array that will…not melt into my engine bay.

The current prototype I am working from is just a sheet of curved sheet metal that fastens to a spare engine cover for fitment and testing purposes. If I can get a good version 1, run some heat and vibration tests, etc., then I’ll make it look prettier in the future.

The LED matrix will be sitting atop a couple dozen fins (or strakes) that will sit more-or-less vertically as oriented to the front-back axis of the car. This is to replicate the look of other OEM deck lids, as well as allow some air movement to and from the engine bay.

The end result is to have an LED matrix, animated/controlled by PixelBlaze, receiving input from the car with synced animations. (Just RPM data to start, but I have some ideas for brake input, G-meter, perhaps even outboard sensors.)