New to this and wanting to learn

I’m completely new to writing code but wanted to know if writing a code that was breathing would be possible?

I’m doing a cosplay project and I need a glowing pulse or breathing look in the colors yellow and gold. I was hope that someone could point me in the right direction on learning the code to do so.

Hi @Sage,
Absolutely! There are a bunch of ways to do this. Also, be sure to check out the Pixelblaze Academy of Wizardry and Enchantment - ElectroMage Forum for excellent learning material!

There’s a pattern included on V3 that walks you though a ton of coding and pattern concepts. Look for “An Intro to Pixelblaze Code” on your Pixelblaze, or upload this file in the editor:
An Intro to Pixelblaze Code.epe (22.0 KB)

The core animation concepts in Pixelblaze are based around a handful of functions that generate waveforms (or transform them).

(source: Waveform - Wikipedia)

For colors, you can use either RGB color space or HSV. A hue around 0.05 will be yellow/orange on many LEDs, feel free to try other values to get what you are looking for.

Try pasting each of these small patterns in your editor. Play around with the values!

The first thing you’d start out with is time(n) where n is some interval, and this generates a value between 0 and 1, then looping back to 0 abruptly. It looks like a sawtooth if you plotted it out. A value of 1 cycles about every 65 seconds, so a value of 0.1 would give you about 6.5 seconds. Give it a try, this will cycle every 2 seconds:

export function render(index) {
  v = time(2 / 65.536)
  hsv(.05, 1, v)
}

sawtooth

For a breathing effect, the sawtooth doesn’t really do the trick at all. A triangle waveform could work, but would kind of snap/bounce at the lows and highs. To give it a try, wrap time with triangle():

v = triangle(time(2 / 65.536))
  hsv(.05, 1, v)
}

triangle