Pixelblaze and shift register CMOS chips for a simple LED array

Noob here. Just got my PB, and am excited to dig in.

I would like to try a unique design at first, without using a SK9822 string with the embedded control for each LED.

I would like to build an array of discrete LEDs, say in a 8x12 configuration. I would like to illuminate a pattern in this array for a fixed period, then a period of no illumination (while shifting in the next pattern), then illuminate the array with the new pattern. Then, iterate on this cycle for a number of patterns.

I have a bunch of CMOS 74HC595 shift register chips lying around, along with my LED stash.

Looking at the timing diagram for the SK9822 string, if I were to discard the leading start frame of 32 bits (all 0’s), and discard the first 8 bits of each payload frame, the remaining 24 bits could be shifted into the 74HC595 chips, one bit per LED. In short, the individual RGB 8-bit values for each controller would be re-mapped to a single LED in the array.

After 4 payload frames were received (discarding the final end frame), the shift register chips would hold 96 bits of pattern information. Then, the Output Enable for the 74HC595 drivers would go active, illuminating the LEDs. After a delay, the OE would go inactive, and all LEDs would no longer be illuminated while the next pattern was being shifted.

Does this approach sound optimal? (Hopefully, I could come up with the logic design to interface the 74HC595’s to the Pixelblaze serial output, and discard the non-pattern bits in the frames.)

Thanks in advance for any insights and recommendations!

I am not familiar with the SK9822, but in principle you can build an array and interface logic in this way. You’d obviously need some logic to strip out the unwanted bits, perhaps discrete logic or a small CPLD. The 74HC595 can be used, especially if the LEDs are not being multipexed.