PixelBlaze Output Expander + Raspberry Pi?

Hi, new user here—currently, I’m working on an embedded project with a number of LED strips that I decided to drive using a PixelBlaze Output Expander (the 8/64 channel one). I can get it to work on an Arduino, but I’m very new to the raspberry pi world, and I was wondering if there was anyone who’s done something like this before?
I’m honestly just confused about how to the serial output configured properly on the RPi end—I’d even be willing to bang together & open source a driver library for RPi if I could get that figured out; is there anyone who has relevant knowledge?
Or is there a library or driver somewhere that would work for my case already? I’d hate to reinvent the wheel here…
If this is the wrong place to ask, then I sincerely apologize.

Thanks, Ele M. Eschalier

What type of LEDs do you have?

For 4 wire strips like apa102 can be driven by the raspberry pi’s SPI pins.

For 3 wire strips like ws2812 you really need an arduino, but there is an adafruit library that can drive a limited number of 3 wire leds off a single GPU pin (library doesn’t support multiple pins).

Either way I’ve never tried adding the 8ch output expander to a pi. I think it should work just like fadecandy on pi though.

Links below to libraries and guides from adafruit.

3 wire leds on pi:

4 wire leds on pi using circuit python

Hi @eeschalier,
Check out this NodeJS project that uses the output expander on a Raspberry Pi. There’s a note in the README about using an odd baud rate setting that might be specific to the Pi model used. The code assembles the necessary frame headers and CRCs, and would be a good reference for porting to other languages as well. If nothing else, it gives a nice bit of code that can be used to compare outputs with a new port.