Possible to disable the "Hold 5 seconds" to reset the Pixelblaze button?

Just wondering, whether or not it’s somehow possible to disable this feature?

I would like to add the “Change pattern” option via button press to my setup.
But I am afraid that it might get reset by accident (When holding for 5sec).

Is it possible to disable the reset, but keep the pattern change?

Or potentially prolong the reset action to 60 seconds or something, so it wouldn’t happen by accident.

Not on the software side, but you could wire a button up to a one shot timer so that holding the button would output single pulses to the input on Pixelblaze.

I might add the ability to do that on other GPIO.

Bit of a beginner here, is it something I can purchase somewhere?

There are industrial off-the-shelf solutions, but they are expensive and may be a special order item. Here’s one that would work: KRDS120 (it does require 12V to operate). Things like this do come up on ebay occasionally, so you might get lucky there.

Okay thank you for the answers!

Seems a bit overkill atm, but hopefully we get a option in the future!

I was thinking something with a 555 timer IC. Beginner friendly, and not expensive. Googling around it seems that might not work without a bit more, and there are other ICs. However, while searching I found this simple example using a capacitor, which might be just the thing!

Schematic copied here:

Now this was intended to condition the signal for a 555, but you won’t need a 555 (or anything to the right of it) since we don’t need to extend the duration of a very small pulse, and can focus on just the R1, R3, C3, and S1 part.