Smooth pulse transition around circular strip

Complete programming noob here. I have a strip of 600 LEDs arranged into roughly a circle shape. I have a pulse of variable brightness LEDs that travel around this Loop. I’m trying to figure out how to get them to transition across the joint from the end of the loop to the beginning of the loop in a seamless fashion. I have been at it for a while but now I’m hoping the real smart people can step in!

Somehow I think I need to test if each pixel is at the end of the string and if so then do some math to translate any pixels beyond the end of the string to the correct HSV pixel at the beginning of the string.

I have a more complicated ultimate goal in mind but this is the first step to get working so that I can start building on it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

My current code looks like this:

export function beforeRender(delta) {
  t1 = time(4 / 65.536) // From 0..1 every 4 seconds
}

export function render(index) {
  halfWidth = 200 // pixels
loopedIndex = index >= pixelCount - halfWidth ? index - pixelCount : index
  // If the index is greater than pixel count-halfWidth, we assume it has looped around
  // and adjust it to a negative value so that the calculation below works correctly.
  // Otherwise, we use the index as is.

pulsePosition = t1 * pixelCount - loopedIndex // In units of pixels
  // By subtracting loopedIndex from the pulse position, we make the pulse transition smoothly
  // from the last LED to the first LED.

distanceFromPulse = abs(pulsePosition) // Still in pixels
  proximityToPulse = halfWidth - distanceFromPulse 
  pctCloseToPulse = proximityToPulse / halfWidth // Now from 1 to 0 
  v = clamp(pctCloseToPulse, 0, 1)

hsv(0.666, 1, v)
}

Hi!

This is an interesting problem that almost everybody eventually runs into. You’ve got the right idea – at the wrap point, the distance between head and tail of your pulse drastically changes, and you have to do a little arithmetic to compensate.