Websocket request

Hi
I’m new to the PB and this forum. I must say I really like what’s been done with the PB and it’s working really well!

So, I finally got the Websocket to the PB working so I can integrate it with my OpenHAB gateway! It works very well, but I have a few requests to fine tune the integration.

1. It works well with the pattern info frame being sent when changed. It would be great if the same could apply for the brightness level.

2. Also, I fully understand the performance aspect of sending the pattern list/info binary. But, if it could also be requested in the “old” format, e.g through a “listProgramsJSON” command maybe?

{
    	"programList": [
    		{
    			"name": "my pattern",
    			"id": "x1234567890",
    			"sourceSize": 123,
    			"globalSourceSize": 123,
    			"compiledSize": 134,
    			"imgSize": 5123
    		}, ...
    	]
    }
  1. When a Websocket connection is established, it would be great if the active pattern and current brightness level frame(s) could be sent - like a getStatus command (which also would be great)? Excellent when you have to do reboots or other stuff.

Thanks!

Hi @Zugarelli,
Welcome to the forum!

For #1 and #3, try sending a {getConfig: true} frame. This will give you both the current brightness and activeProgramId. It will give you a ton of other things as well, just about everything on the settings page. I might make a more focused API for that sometime in the future.

For #2, I had to drop the old format because it was running the ESP out of memory. It would need to be a chunked API that sent the list in multiple frames. I’ll think about it. Did you have trouble getting that working? What language are you working in to read the websocket frames?

OK, I’ll try that.