Wiring V2 with output expander to WS2812B strips

Hello,

I have no experience besides some soldering here and there so I’m hoping someone can give some advice. I have the V2 with an output expander, and I’m trying to feed 2 seperate LED WS2812B strips (2.8 metres long each, 120Watts each).
The power supply is 5VDC60A. I was planning on using AWG12 for power cables to LED stips, and AWG22 for data.

I don’t know whether to tie the second led strip into the first one?!

I have attached a picture with a mock up of what I think is the correct wiring, some confirmation or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hi Oran,
When using the output expander, it connects to Pixelblaze’s single output. You won’t connect your LEDs to that part anymore. The output expander’s input doesn’t come from the right side, that is where the sensor board can connect.
Here’s the hookup information (this should also be on the printout that came with the board):

Basically, you’ll flip it around 180 degrees, and connect it’s inputs to the output on Pixelblaze where you have a screw terminal. Then, your LEDs get their inputs from one of the 8 output channels marked 0-7 on the bottom (going off the picture). The data is the top row. You can distribute power as well, using the 2nd and 3rd rows.

You can wire them up like this:

If you didn’t already have the screw terminal attached, I would say that you can overlap the 2 boards, the pins from the 0.2" and 0.1" headers line up just right. (Use a bit of wire through the holes to complete the sandwich connection)

It’s possible to do both, with the screw terminal going through both boards. While the data line can’t be used for LEDs, it can be a handy way to get power to the boards from a supply like yours. You can also provide power through the 2 extra pins on the output expander near the outputs, just to the left of output 0.

Here’s a color overlay showing how power is connected on the expander output rows: