3D Mapping a Dodecahedron

Hi All!

I’m new to Pixelblaze and this forum. I just built an infinity dodecahedron (6" edges with 20 pixels each edge) and fired up my first V2 yesterday and WOW! I like to get way over my head and was wondering if anyone has attempted 3D mapping one of these bad boys?

I attached a pic of the build for reference and have a strip map diagram as we (but could only load 1 image). Warning…I know “zero” about coding but am an eager/quick leaner and would appreciate any advice (other than "go back to school and study computer science).

Thanks!

1 Like

Nice… So first step, document the strip order, label each face from top down to bottom (1-12, or A-L, etc), and list the edge order as the two faces (so AB, AC, AD, AE, AF, perhaps…)

The problem isn’t the math (which is pretty simple to calculate, as 20 points between each vertex), but the strip order to use.

I actually was thinking about a polyhedral mapper (I have a Rhombic Triacontahedron I want to map face centers for, one led per face… the problems are all similar, and I’ll just write a fairly generic mapper I think… Likely each polyhedron as a array of vertex/edges/faces…)

Related:

So here’s some helping for the labeling and the math we’ll do:

Use the “net map” to label A-L, and then number the edges in order, and post a photo of that, so we know the right order (we actually care about the edge from vertex to vertex but that’ll be clear)

Then the math of a dododeca is described in the Cartesian Coordinates section, and basically since the mapper will reorganize everything into a 0…1 format, we can do the -1,-1,-1 (etc) format and PB will magically turn that into the right values for itself. So we’ll just pick each of the 30 edges, and figure out 20 spots equally in between it’s two ends (which the math is known for), and bingo, we’ll have all 30x20 (or 600 pixels) mapped, but as I said, order matters first.