How do I program for sections of an LED Strip?

Hey there fellow pixelblazers! I just got my v2.1 and I am absolutely in love with it! The upgrade from the SP105E I used at first with my 300 pixel WS2812B is immense! I’ve never programmed before but I’m really enjoying the learning process. I’m looking to use this as part of a sign I’m building for my amazing wife’s first multi-chair salon and one of the hurdles to this I’m trying to figure out is how to program separate sections of the LED strip. Eventually I’ll cut and solder this strip into 3 separate sections of varied lengths and I’d like to be able to assign separate programming to each of them.

For example one section of LEDs might be white using the following:
export function render(index) {
hsv(1, 0, 1)
}

While another runs a smooth rainbow with the following:
hsv(time(.1) + index/pixelCount, 1, 1)
}

What can I use to apply a function to only a set range of LEDs?

Thanks!

1 Like

Alright color me crazy but I worked through part of this and wanted to share in case someone else runs into the same issue - I ended up with an example formula of:

if (index>200){
hsv(time(0.1) + index/pixelCount, 1, 1)
}
if (200>index){
hsv(0.9,1,1)
}
if (index<75){
hsv(1,0,1)
}
}

This gave 75 LEDs of white (last bit of function) 125 LEDs of pink and 100 LEDs of rainbow. I still don’t understand why re-ordering these if statements results in failure to have 3 sections so I think I need to understand how the order of operations is effected here (perhaps working from end of strip to beginning?) but I think at least for now I’ve got a way to break my strip into 3 sections and then throw formulas in to create certain effects.

1 Like

Hi Adrian!

It’s awesome to see you figured out a mostly-working approach on your own. To prevent the order of if statements from having unpredictable results, I have two suggestions: Careful boundaries, and using else.