Single Color Snake Pattern?

Hello! I’m trying to create a single color snake pattern and I’m having some issues. I’m very new with all of this so I would appreciate any help or pointers.

I started with this rainbow snake pattern that works perfectly:

distance = 50

export function beforeRender(delta) {
  t1 = time(.17)
}

export function render(index) {
  h = index/pixelCount
  s = 1
  v = 1

head = t1 * 112
  offset = (head - index + 112) % 112

hsv(h, s, clamp(1 - offset / distance, 0, 1))
}

Then I modified it to run a white snake pattern:

distance = 50

t1 = time(.17)
}

h = 0
  s = 0
  v = 1

head = t1 * 112

}

I would now like to run the exact same pattern as the white snake, but with solid colors. However I can’t seem to get it to work. If I change the “s” value to anything other than 0 the color turns to green and I can’t get it to produce any other colors. Is there a straight forward way of doing this which would allow me to choose a few different solid colors to run with this pattern?

H S V stands for Hue (color, basically), Saturation (how gray / desaturated the color is) and Value (basically brightness).

You want to control the COLOR with H, not S.

If you scroll down on Getting Started with PixelBlaze — Ben Hencke to “Writing Your First Pattern” it’s decently well explained.

Thanks for the reply! I’ve tried that as well, but no mater what value I give it it remains white.

That’s because you have s = 0 which means 0 saturation. :relaxed:

2 Likes

That makes sense, however I’m still confused why if I make S anything above 0 why it will only run a single green color. The strip I’m using is these 12v RGBW pixels: https://www.enttec.com/product/led-pixel-strip/black-led-pixel-strip/. Does it have something to do with it being RGBW instead of RGB? The rest of the effect works exactly how I want, but I just need to be able to choose the color and as of right now it will only do all white or one specific shade of green.