Syncing beat detection algorithm to multiple Pixelblazes

Hi All!

I’ve been working on a beat-reactive lighting setup for my RGB-reactive fractal art booth and I feel like I’m so close, but I just can’t prevent my pattern from drifting in and out of sync. I was hoping one of you geniuses on here might be able to lend a helping hand?

Here’s what the goal is:

I’ve got five follower PBs that are each driving their own 6ft light bar (55 pixels each). These will be providing the light for my RGB-reactive art and so I’d like the color fade to progress with the beat of the music so the art “dances” along.

The journey so far:

I have zero experience writing beat detection algorithms so I started by standing on the shoulders of @jeff and his beautiful Music Sequencer and trimmed out everything except the bare essentials used for beat detection.

The code I ended up with ran flawlessly on a single leader PB, but when I ran it on the fleet, the color fading would drift in and out of sync between the followers.

I poured over forum posts for inspiration and while reading through the replies to this post, I saw that @wizard and @jeff were talking about how timing code that’s based upon “delta” can have problems syncing, since each board’s delta will depend on the individual frame rate that it’s running at. Instead it was suggested that syncing would be better achieved by using the time() function, since calls to the time() function are ostensibly synced between all the Pixelblazes in a group.

Figuring that I’d finally found the silver bullet for my problem, I wrote a timer function that accumulates time based upon calls to the time() function rather than relying on “delta.”

But alas! The boards still drift in and out of sync and I’m at a loss for ideas of anything further to try.