Very new - how to light every other pixel or every 3rd pixel (static, not moving)

hello, i am having trouble wrapping my head around the pixel index / position. can someone please give me a run down on how to select a pixel (say the 4th pixel, or pixel 3 in the index), and the syntax for working with pixel index? im relatively new to PB, and while i do have some minimal coding experience (i mean VERY minimal), i cannot find a straight answer to help me understand. any help is greatly appreciated!!

It’s a simple matter of turning your thinking inside out. You don’t “select” a pixel. You just have to write code that sets the color of any pixel, given its index.

The render(index) function is called once per pixel for every frame of your animation.

Here’s the simplest example I can think of: the Ukrainian flag on my front window for the past 2 months. It’s 300 pixels, starting at the bottom of a tall window, going up, then looping back to the bottom. The first 75 pixels (index 0 to 74) and the last 75 pixels (index 225 to 299) are yellow, and the rest are blue.

This function is run 300 times per frame, once for each pixel index. The complete pattern, no mapper required, is:

export function render(index) {
  if (index < 75 || index > 224) {
    rgb(1,0.875,0)
  } else {
    rgb(0,0,1)
  }
}

(the 0.875 is there because the green LEDs are stronger than the red!)

Thanks for the reply! Honestly, that was faster than i expected.
I loosely understand the if/else ranging of pixel color. But what i am trying to do is turn, say every 5th pixel white (or a varying color temp of white), and the rest black (off).
I imagine it would look something like this:

var temp = 0
x = 0

export function sliderTemp (s) {
temp = s
}

if (index == x+5 ) {
hsv(.067, temp, 1)
} else {
hsv(0,0,0)
}
}